In fair Verona, where we lay our scene…

Fair Verona by Vic Briggs

“Two households, both alike in dignity,
In fair Verona, where we lay our scene,
From ancient grudge break to new mutiny,
Where civil blood makes civil hands unclean.
From forth the fatal loins of these two foes
A pair of star-cross’d lovers take their life;
Whose misadventured piteous overthrows
Do with their death bury their parents’ strife.”

~ Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare ~

 

About this image: A glimpse of Verona’s Roman heart, enfolded in the loop of the river Adige and defended by ancient walls.

Although many romantic hopefuls visit Verona in order to get a glimpse of Juliet’s balcony on Via Cappello, 23 – I will readily admit that despite its renown this particular stopover was a disappointment. The courtyard gets very crowded, and the graffitied walls were not exactly in keeping with one’s expectations of what a Capulet’s stronghold may look like.  Do not fear, however, as there are more than enough balconies to satisfy the enthusiast. I lost count after the first two dozens.  

I will not attempt to describe the effortless charm of Verona’s architecture, or enumerate the treasures it has amassed within its walls over some two thousand years of uninterrupted expansion. I could hardly do it justice. Neither my amateur photography nor any praise I offer will be able to translate the ease with which this city will seduce you, should you chance to pay a visit. 

 

Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember

16 thoughts on “In fair Verona, where we lay our scene…

  1. Fair indeed…your composition is beautiful, Vic. I love the view through the trees in the foreground (pink oleander on the right I think) to Verona below, with that lovely bridge and tower at the centre. Magnifico!

    • Thank you, Lee-Anne. I seem to have developed a habit of searching out the high ground wherever I go. Apparently only madmen and Englishmen will walk under the blazing sun at noon. Well… I just about fit in both categories 😉

      • Hahaha…I have a huge respect for madness and Englishmen…women, as one who no doubt falls into the category of ‘madmen and Australians’ (doesn’t have quite the same ring somehow) We Aussies must avoid the midday sun or we end up resembling prunes!
        😀

      • Ah yes, there is no danger of that on our rainy island and that may go some way to explain why we don’t know what to do with ourselves in sunnier lands. 🙂

  2. Oh, you made my whole day with this photo. 🙂 I spent a month in Verona studying Italian and going to the opera and wandering around looking at paintings and talking to people. It was wonderful, beautiful small city.

    • I am so glad, Martha. How wonderful that you should have so many memories associated with the city. I’ve never seen a more wonderful production than the open-air opera in Verona. Would love to revisit.

      • I got to see Aida and most of Mme Butterfly. It rained in the last act but even that was great — I walked home in a summer rain under the Linden trees along the Adige. I would love to go back, too.

      • I saw Aida too! Horses on stage: quite stunning in its daring. We bought the cheap seat tickets and rented cushions. I am a romantic at heart and wanted the experience of being at the heart of the crowd, just as generations have done since the coliseum was first built.

      • For Aida I got expensive seats because I wanted to be close. But for Mme Butterfly I sat with the Plebs. MUCH more comfortable and more fun. If I get to go back, that’s what I’ll do.

      • Haha the plebs indeed. It was certainly a lot of fun and the atmosphere in the audience augmented my enjoyment of the opera. Certainly worth it.

  3. I visited Verona, saw that balcony. I think it is just a myth but Verona itself is wonderful and far less visited. Its colisseum is larger than the one in Rome, if I remember correctly. I love visiting cities off the beaten path, like this one. Nice to be reminded and the 12 Apostles restaurant there is worth the trip!

    • It is certainly a myth, but I think that will not persuade Juliet’s fans to stay away. I am sure that on a quiet day (and perhaps just after the annual clean-up) the place would be charming enough, but I was unfortunate enough to visit it at the hight of summer when it is perhaps at its busiest.
      Like you, I loved Verona and have been plotting a return to Italy and its smaller cities ever since. I will certainly try the restaurant when I am back. Thank you for recommending it, Beth.

Leave a Reply

