It Speaks!

frankenstein

I was wordless. Language was empty of meaning to me,

A creature.

Abandoned by my creator, I stumbled through the dark.

Rejected.

Why? Because I was imperfect through no fault of my own —

A sinner?

No. Not I. The other school of thought appealed to in advance:

Tabula rasa.

An empty slate to be encrypted by the world. So if I am deficient,

A draft,

It is the world that made me so: their ignorance within reflected.

This they hate.

They hound their own failings in attacking; unveiled in their cruelty.

Solitary.

Like the moon on the crest of a cloud, alone and lonesome in my plight.

To learn.

So many questions and for them, the answers few. The more I read…

Ideas

Like hailstones batter. Who am I? Whence I come? What place to call my home?

No name.

A luxury denied me. For had I even this, I would not howl in pain and envy.

Frightened

By everything and all. Unloved. A monster. To punish their malice I will plot this:

My revenge.   

Will track you down. As winter is my witness, you’ll pay for your desertion,

Frankenstein!

*

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/08/learning-style/

27 thoughts on “It Speaks!

  1. Pingback: Welcome to my world… In/verse | vic briggs

  2. Pingback: Learning for the PMP exam | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Learning Style | Kansa Muse

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Learning Style | BulgingButtons

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Learning Style | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: How To Learn – How To Teach | The Jittery Goat

    • Thank you, Chris. To me the creature is exactly that, a symbolic substitution for the human condition. I empathised with his plight because it is also ours. I am pleased that you also read and interpreted it this way. Nothing stays hidden from your perspicacious eye it would seem.

      • Indeed. It is always disappointing when people view the story as merely of the horror genre, when clearly it is an extended metaphor. Reminds me of someone I once worked with who insisted the Blake’s ‘The Tyger’ was actually about a tiger! What hope, eh??

      • That’s funny. I suppose some people do take things literally. Oh well… Nothing to be done about it I suppose.
        Thank you, Chris. Like you, I always search for the subtext.

  7. I’m not sure why but this made me smile! I think it’s because I’ve Frankenstein and your poem encapsulates all of the Monster’s emotions (that’s is if we believe he is a monster of course)

    • This is the question I was asking myself at the end of the play: which is the man and which the monster? It was a tough ask to decide between the two.
      Thank you – very interesting comment.

  8. Pingback: I do it over and over and over and . . . you know. | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Learning style | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a comment