Sister Sister

sister-hood-awardA little while ago a fellow blogger and I were discussing the idea of starting a new award: “The Whiskey Award” – an award with a difference. It would have no obligations and rules attached to it whatsoever. It would be nothing more nor less than the equivalent of having a drink with a fellow journey(wo)man – a little clink of amber to say hello.

Perhaps the Sisterhood award is – with the exception of the rules part – the Whiskey Award’s equivalent: an opportunity to say hello to some brilliant fellow WordPress bloggers.

So… I will start with a toast and a thank you to three wonderful bloggers who have nominated my blog for this award. To Lessons in French, thank you for sharing your lessons in conversation with life. To SIM | ANTICS a big thank you for your many hats 😉 and tongue-in-cheek takes on life, culture and technology. And, finally to Nina Kaytel thank you for the support you offer to all fellow writers on this journey to becoming better versions of ourselves.

~ Ten questions and my answers ~

  1. Your favourite colour: Sunset orange.
  2. Your favourite animalI do not have one, but would love to see a platypus.
  3. Your favourite non-alcoholic drinkThink — British!
  4. Facebook or TwitterThe latter – having a little too much fun impersonating a secret agent. #VB009 if you are curious  😉
  5. Your favourite pattern…cobwebs. 
  6. Do you prefer getting or giving presents? I used to spend all my pocket money on Christmas presents for my family. The surprise and delight on their faces: nothing could make me happier.
  7. Your favourite number:  Fibonacci.
  8. Your favourite day of the week: Is there a full moon? 
  9. Your favourite flowerPeonies.
  10. What is your passion? To question. To think. To write. To act. To dance. To imagine… If I had only one, I doubt I would’ve made it here 🙂

~ My nominees ~

This is the most difficult part for any award. How does one choose? My nominees are each wonderful in their own way. I will share with you the first line of their latest post for you to get a flavour of their work.

lindaghill  EDDD -11 Feelin’ Bananas: Blog post of December 11th, in honour of Every Damn Day December. Check it out!

Idiot Writing A Cup Of Inspiration? t. s all gone and find it nearly full. 13 more words

A Cup Of English Tea A Most Unjust Representation: Life as a Hufflepuffist So most of my good friends know I’m a strong feminist, and I fight to try to end misrepresentations and injustices against women. But what many don’t know is that there is another cause that also sparks my anger when it comes to the obvious inequality that I see in the media and in the world. 1,193 more words

Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends Boys and their toys Does this look like a traffic jam? It sure is. Traffic jam inside a house because of the number of cars, of all sizes, that are trying to vie for attention of my nephew. 30 more words

Chronicles of a Public Transit User Wordless Wednesday #2

AlienoraJT Precious imperfection Can do no wrong? What a strange idea! I love those dear to my heart for their gritty imperfections, their oyster roughness – and the sweet glittering pearls within; I adore, and celebrate, their flawed humanity. 277 more words

Writings of a Mrs Footprints Footprints / Your beauty resides / Subsides the torment of my soul /

DottaRaphels THE PRICE OF EXCELLENCE: This is not a long post, just a comment to my fellow bloggers on WordPress. A little over four months ago, I came across a blogger …

Rarasaur For Fear of Bizarro Gotham City: There’s a new collective blog in town, and we’re keeping it real. It’s my turn, and I decided to share with you a tale of a magic cleaning supply I once created.  71 more words

Jamie Lynne Poetry Unspoken: I think with words unspoken/ Succeed before I start/ I dream with eyes wide open/ And love with all my heart/ It often seems surreal… 132 more words

Drops Of Ink Snow Day Remember back when you were in school, and the snow would start falling? You’d sit anxiously by, waiting to hear those two magical words.. SNOW DAY. 41 more words

She Is NOT A Poet *Insert Relationship Status Here* “Nah, we’re not together, we just talk.” Talk? I guess that’s what we call the “get to know each other” stage now. But these days, everyone gets so far off script somehow. 139 more words

Enjoy xxx

~The Rules ~

  1. Provide a link to and thank the blogger who nominated you for this award.
  2. Answer ten questions.
  3. Nominate 10-12 blogs that you find a joy to read.
  4. Provide links to these nominated blogs and kindly let the recipients know they have been nominated.
  5. Include the award logo within your blog post.
45 thoughts on “Sister Sister

  1. Thank you so much for your nomination. I am in the middle of finals right now so I probably will take a while to write any kind of acknowledgement, but I wanted to make sure you know I did receive your award and am very grateful. Thanks so much!

    • Thank you, Scarlet. Your comments always make me smile 🙂 These coming weeks will be tough, because I’m actually travelling until New Year’s eve so how I’ll be able to blog as well, I do not know. I’ve spent the last few days preparing and already missed out on so many posts – will try to catch up at some point. So you’ll see me around, even if a little less frequently than usual xx

      • It’s cool, I’ll have a bit of time off too I think. Hey I keep meaning to say, you should put a ‘subscribe by email widget’ on your blogs’. I find the WP reader is lame and I forget to check sometimes.

        Enjoy your time off and have fun, that’s an order :p

      • Ha-ha! Thank you, Scarlet. Will do my best. Won’t be able to post as often as usual while I’m away. First hotel and there’s no free Wi-Fi so traipsed to a nearby café to check WP. Good idea about the widget. Will have a look at the WP helpdesk to see how it is done.
        🙂

      • You can tether your phone too, if you have an iPhone (settings/personal hotspot) I use that sometimes out here in Jurassic park when my 3G modem fails.

        I found mine in the dashboard, appearance, widgets but your theme might be different, sorry I’m not that techy 🙂

      • I think it’s the 2011 theme. Will check it. Thank you, Scarlet. Hope you’re enjoying your break – that is, if you’re taking one 🙂

      • Cool, hope it works. I was thinking of a theme change in the new year.

        I’m headed down to city for a few days to see my buddies, then more of what I do day to day, not much 🙂

        I hope you get some time off too VIc x

      • I’m struggling to get online while away. Few places have free Wi-Fi, so may take a while to get the widget fixed. Not very techy either.
        Hope you have an amazing time in the city 🙂

      • I’m in Palm Springs CA at the moment so freezing desert nights and hot days 🙂 Quite a change from English weather. Will be getting a little bit of a break, but hopefully not before I’ve scheduled a few posts first.

      • Palm springs sounds like beach to me, confusing people those yanks! I went to the desert once, never again! Hope its been fun 🙂

      • It is in the desert 🙂 but it does have a beach feel to it. Been fun so far. Thank you, Scarlet. Hope you’re having a great time in the city.

      • I’m struggling to get online while away. Few places have free Wi-Fi, so may take a while to get the widget fixed. Not very techy either.
        Hope you have an amazing time in the city 🙂

  2. I are discriminated against… 😉

    In other news that’s kinda what my not so daily, Daily Good Cheer Award is. Like your Whiskey award idea.

  3. Aww…You just keep giving lady 🙂
    Thank you so much Vicki, I humbly accept and will do as the rules are. I’m gonna check out my fellow nominees too, you sure know how to pick them and I look forward to some really enjoyable reading.

    • Dear Ali, you need never worry when it comes to me. I know you are going through some tough times and have been reading your posts about it, so there is no pressure at all on this side. Whenever you feel able, your comments of course are wonderful to read, but the most important thing to me is that you are well. xxx

  4. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award | DottaRaphels

Leave a Reply

