I love this record, baby, but I can’t see straight anymore…

untitledLondon’s Thames-scape at their feet. Silent and alive.

The ice clinks against the G&T-filled glasses. One story ended. Another courses though their veins, yet to be told…

*

“Where do you live?” he asks.

“Cambridge.”

“That’s… Epic.” Eyebrow raised.

She laughs: “It’s not that bad. I’ve been commuting for… seven years now.” She pauses. Sighs. “Gosh. That makes me feel so old.”

Their eyes meet. Too short for alarm bells. Too long for comfort.

“I don’t think you are old,” he sais it slowly. Deliberately. He means it. Perhaps there is too much meaning being read into.

She looks away. Pleased that one evening’s greys would conceal her blush.

*

I love this record, baby, but I can’t see straight anymore…

Him: I’m a fool to want you. I’m a fool to want you. To want a love that can’t be true, a love that’s there for others too. I’m a fool to hold you; such a fool to hold you. To seek a kiss, not mine alone, to share a kiss the devil has known.

Her: Is this it?! Is this it?!! Is this it?

Him: Down and down… I got to get up. Oh I’m up, I’m up. Get down. Bring your questions to the floor. Down backstairs and out front door. Your feel! Your pain! Over and over again!!!

Find somebody close to you. Follow you heart! Follow your heart! Don’t I love you! Do what you want. Do what you do. Don’t I love you.

Her: If I were a painter, I would paint my reverie, if that’s the only way for you to be with me… We’d be there together, just like we used to be, underneath the swollen skies for all to see, and I’m dreaming of a place where I could see your face, and I think my brush would take me there, but only if I were a painter…

Him: I spend my time watching the spaces that have grown between us. And I cut my mind on second best, all the scars that come with the greenness… And I give my eyes to the boredom. Still the seabed wouldn’t let me in. And I try my best to embrace the darkness in which I swim.

London dance

Her: Just dance! Gonna be ok. Taraptururup… Just dance! Spin that record, babe… Taraptururup. Just dance! Gonna be ok. Taraptururup. Just dance ! Dance… dance… dance!  Just dance.

*

P.S.:

Non. Rien de rien. Non. Je ne regrette rien. Ni le bien qu’ont ma fait, Ni le mal. Tout ça m’est bien égal.

Aujourd’hui. Ça commence avec moi !

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/10/06/daily-prompt-music-2/

Daily Prompt: Mix Tape Masterpiece

You make a new friend. Make them a mix tape (or playlist, for the younger folks) that tells them who you are through song.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MUSIC.

3 thoughts on “I love this record, baby, but I can’t see straight anymore…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Mix Tape Masterpiece | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. This was a laugh and a half: what does the music you listen to say about you (first-date-context):
    http://www.howaboutwe.com/date-report/1610-what-your-taste-in-music-says-about-you-on-a-date/
    So… from the choices on offer, this is what the music I listen to says about me:
    I’ve got a big heart and am a confident person – sweet, yet not a pushover – but I know what it’s like to get treated like crap. I’m not really an asshole; I just act like it sometimes. If/when I hook up, it’s gonna get weird. I’m kind of kinky. I’m hot. I’m about being about whatever. I make breakfast in the morning. Eh. Who knows.
    😀

  3. Pingback: My 8 Track | My Days In A Song

Leave a comment