Epitaph

arwen_veil_after

I did not get to say goodbye…

Forgiveness for a broken promise seeks,

Prostrate upon the floor,

A soul in mourning, tearing down the light.

 

I don’t know how to grieve,

How to forget to run into your arms,

To hold you close, your every trouble steal –

To long for your embrace cannot unlearn.

 

I have no tears to give.

An empty place had seared through my lungs,

For when I close my eyes I see you still

Perched at the lilac gate, awaiting my return.

 

I did not get to say goodbye.

The morning dew lay salty on my cheeks…

It was a dream, no more.

Veiled black, I pass my days in wakeful plight.

*

Daily Prompt: Generation XYZ

19 thoughts on “Epitaph

  1. Pingback: Welcome to my world… In/verse | vic briggs

  2. I feel that you have captured the emotion of loss perfectly here, Vic – how can one grieve for the loss of true love until it has been lost? This is a lesson that many will learn, but none can pass on. Beautifully crafted.

  3. Pingback: 10 Best Bloggers | Spartacus2030

Leave a Reply

