The Harshad Number

500

How time flies!

This old friend… and even older enemy: Time. I did ask for it to slow down, wait a moment or two, but no… It continues its onward flight unrelenting. And although our relationship is somewhat strained at present, this New Year’s eve we patched things up over vol-au-vents and champagne. Couldn’t refuse really. Not after the wonderful gift it offered.

On the 31st of December 2013, shardsofsilence celebrated its five month blogniversary with the arrival of a Harshad number: the big 500.

The word “Harshad” comes from the Sanskrit harṣa – meaning joy – and da – meaning to give. Namaste 🙂

It is rather wonderful that the meaning of the number corresponded exactly to my feelings on the occasion. You have – each and everyone of you – brought joy and sunshine to my journey. Thank you!

Thank you for your thoughtful comments and feedback, for your warmth and generosity, for your kind welcome and continued support. It’s been a pleasure to be here with you and I look forward to a new joyful year at your side.

With best wishes and warm regards,

Vic

Congratulations on getting 500 total follows on vic briggs.

20 thoughts on “The Harshad Number

    • Thank you, Richard. It was a wonderful surprise. I hadn’t been keeping stock of the stats this December, having been away for so long and I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw it. 🙂

  1. Hi Vic,
    first, I’d like to congratulate you on this number, and then, I have to say that what first called my attention to your post was the picture, which is fantastic! I really can not see what you’re going to do to top it when you get 1000 follows. But then again, look at your great blog. You’re going to figure out a way. Happy New Year!

    • Thank you so much. I wanted to emphasise through the picture that while having the number is great, there is a real person behind each one of them and to me this is much more important than anything the stats could offer. Than you again and a very happy new year to you 🙂

  2. Congratulations! I can’t think of anyone more deserving than you.
    Your blog is always an inspiration and I’m always hungry for more.
    Happy New Year and here’s to thousands more to follow~! 😀

    xx love

Leave a Reply

