Forget-Me-Not

20131226-235542.jpg

You were mine for one day –
My “mishap”
I planted the flag into your navel
And you laughed at my solemnity
When I declared it Newfoundland.
“I was here. ‘Tis mine –
For all eternity.”
A mayfly our love – dead before the sun set on the pier.
The salt-scented air mingled with the bergamot of your skin…
I held my breath, anticipating the next step,
Not knowing it would be the last.
Moonlit waves caressing soundless steps.
“Forget-me-not” – A goodbye that hounds my every waking hour.
You were mine. Claimed for one day.
Lost world.

*
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/26/prompt-here/#like-62812

18 thoughts on “Forget-Me-Not

  1. A beautifully written poem on claimed and lost love – rejoiceful and not maudlin, which is impressive. Love all the references to the sea (do I detect an on-going theme here?) And a great feel of love being an exploratory journey where one searches for a friendly shore.

  2. That was such a beautifully written piece ! It reminds me of a small poem I used to sing in my childhood that goes like :
    Down in a valley
    Written on a rock
    Three little words
    Forget-me-not !! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Welcome to my world… In/verse | vic briggs

  4. one day within one moment haunts the soul for a lifetime…
    this is a beautiful reminder of what if….
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

Leave a Reply

