Noooooo!

HELPOnce upon a time, when the internet was in its infancy and I had to wait for half an hour for an email to upload and then for another half hour for my reply to be sent, I did not get frustrated.

I had no expectations whatsoever  from this air-message-monster.

Quite the opposite: I knew it would take days, weeks perhaps, for a hand-written letter (remember those?) to make the same journey, so one hour seemed a reasonable amount of time to wait by comparison.

Not so today. We live in the age of hyper-connectivity, so being denied access even for a few  minutes is enough to get the blood boiling. Time is precious.

I had planned to spend a couple of hours this morning replying to your comments and visiting some of my favourite blogs to read and comment – no such luck. Every time I try to open a window I get an error message and that dreaded “Connection lost” follows.

If through some miracle this post makes it to your screens, then  I can only guess that it managed to sneak its way through a momentary window, when the fire-breathing-internet-dragon was looking the other way.

I no longer have to imagine what being stranded on an desert island would feel like — this must be it!

15 thoughts on “Noooooo!

    • I’m glad to hear it, although I have to say frustration running high at the moment. I haven’t been able to upload one single blog onto my screen and after keeping my morning free specifically so that I could catch up on reading and commenting on WP it is upsetting that a technical matter should get in the way. Thank you, Ann. Hope you are well. x

  1. Can you imagine? A world without the internet…

    I actually experienced exactly this last year whilst volunteering in India. And it was wonderful.

    That being said, losing one’s internet connection absolutely sucks. Naturally, I have assumed that my blog was one of those ‘favourites’ that you mentioned and no doubt you will be spending the next 20 mins or so catching up on the various posts you’ve missed… Or not.

    I suspect not actually.

    • Ha-ha! I actually tried to comment on one of your posts today and the screen crashed on me. I’m going back again to see if I get lucky third time around. This is the most frustrating thing about a lack of internet connection: I don’t have a chance to actually interact with any of you except in two-minutes bits every two or three hours. Argh!

  2. My granny is in a fit right now since her internet as gone wonky. Me? Before I made a blog I’d be happy without it. I was guilty of not utilizing the internet. Having a blog rendered me a bit more obsessive — oh look a like!

  3. We take it so much for granted these days. As I sit here with the laptop, mobile phone and iPad either side of me I wonder what our lives would be like without all our connectivity.
    The irony for me is when I was younger I had some 50 penpals all over the world. We conversed through hand written snail mail, writing several pages each letter getting to know each other and learn about life around the globe. Nowadays, we don’t get individual and personalised mails but read the writing of complete strangers through blogs, still learning about people and life without the individual and personal connection. Is that a good or bad thing? Hmmm…

    • I’ve been thinking about this for a while. The traditionalist in me always insists that virtual relationships and communication – via the internet, whether through blogs, twitter or Facebook – are by their very nature virtual and cannot substitute “the real”… however, over time I’ve changed tack. Those interactions are not less real (I think) for being virtual – part of a different kind of reality. They should still be balanced out by face to face communication, but I think many would agree that in some ways at least they do feel connected to those who take time to read and comment on their work. At least I do.

Leave a Reply

