Ménage à trois

Castles&Guns_Unrequited Love

Ashen skies.

Sober with morning,

Feel my innards shrivel with poison…

I wasn’t meant to hear that you loved another.

A scoriae soul all but frozen…

Overperforming

In disguise.

Eyes gone sere.

Her scent on your skin,

Mocking afterthought come epigram.

I wasn’t meant to hear that you loved another.

Bile crisps up below the diaphragm,

Withering within.

Don’t come near!

*

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/12/02/prompt-hear/

27 thoughts on “Ménage à trois

  1. Pingback: Welcome to my world… In/verse | vic briggs

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hear no Evil | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: A Birthday Gift | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: See No Evil, Hear….. | Kansa Muse

      • Never disappointed.

        I like all your poems.

        But am drawn to the more positive ones naturally. Haha.

      • Thank you, Kavalkade. I appreciate that and I also understand your preference. Unfortunately for me poetry is where I usually purge the darkness within. Most would say that I am a positive, optimistic person in everyday life and relationships. However, the lightness has its counterpart.

      • Certainly hope it is cathartic and not consuming.

        Did you see the filtered green pic I tweeted you? Found it on Google+ from one of my photog friends. haha.

        Visions of Bond girls arising from the ocean… Should be quite a great #VB009… 😉

      • It is cathartic, always.

        I haven’t seen the new pic yet, but will take a look as soon as I am done revising my chapter for today. Look forward to it. Sounds like it would be quite something 🙂

      • Haven’t created teh scene yet. But the background of the beach scene has a meteor sreaking down, and matches your filter pretty well…

  5. There is a great deal of potency in this poem, Vic. You paint a real sense of betrayal, but I also get, reading beneath the lines, a feeling that the betrayal was already sensed, and it is the revelation that is the real killer. On a personal note I’m not convinced of the need for the last line, but then it’s not my poem. Great writing!

    • It is almost as if you are in my head, Chris. That last line I was least happy with. I wanted to find a substitute, but couldn’t quite pinpoint it. The advantage for having it, I suppose, is its ability to draw you into the scene – so that you get a sense that you are there as it unfolds. But I am not fully satisfied with it, and may change it… Will see.
      Thank you so much for your feedback. Once again I find myself reengaging with my creation in a different way as a result.

  6. Pingback: Moonlight Eyes (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat

  7. Pingback: Hear No Evil | Pretty Pleasures

  8. Pingback: Hear No Evil: Sex Conversation | Pretty Pleasures

  9. Pingback: The Secret |

  10. Pingback: Hear no evil… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

