Dragon’s Loyalty Award

dragons-loyalty-award“The Dragon’s Loyalty Award is an award for the loyal fan/commenter, whether the recipient is a fellow blogger or just someone who follows and comments regularly”. 

There can be no doubt about this: an award which combines Dragon and Loyalty in its title was always bound to warm the cockles of my heart.  Since it’s a Dragon’s award – that must mean treasure! Happy days.  

Mind Chatter happens to be a big dragon fan himself and his blog too is full of treasure – sometimes it comes in poetic form, at other times in prose, but I hope you’ll give it a chance to charm you, as it did me.  

Now that I possess this treasure of an award, I’m on a quest for my own fifteen nominees. Not an easy task, because so many of you have been reading and commentating on shardsofsilence and I am loath to leave anyone out. Alas. Rules are rules, so I will have to appeal to WP statistics to figure out whereto this mystical fiery creature must go next.  

So here you are, my top fifteen commenters. 

1.  Kaufman’s Kavalkade         2. navigator1965

3. CRAZY LIFE                        4. richardankerswrites

5. Opinionated Man                 6. EightLeggedGemini

7. KG                                       8. alienorajt

Now… the first six are easy to figure out, because WP tells me who they are based on the last one thousand comments. The list changes with time and this is how I have my seventh and eight nominees: they were in the top six a few weeks back when I first made note of it for future reference. However, I’m in a little bit of a pickle regarding the final seven spots. There’s nothing I can do for it I’m afraid. It will have to be guesswork and guestimation based on November comments. So here you are, my frequent commenters for this month :  

Dotta Raphels       Scarlet       eriklehman       Nina Kaytel

       chrisnelson61       dawnhosking     Ann Koplow

You’ve come. You’ve seen. You’ve commented. 🙂 A big thank you to you all.

So now the Dragon’s come bearing gifts. Enjoy the award. You deserve it.

*

Dragon’s Loyalty Award Rules:

1. Firstly, display the Award on your site (see Award page or sidebar!) You earned it and you deserve it!

2. Link back to the person who gave you the award in your acceptance post;

3. Nominate 15 well deserving bloggers for the Award and let them know the wonderful news by sending them a message on their site;

4. List 7 interesting facts about yourself

*

PS: I will be honest with you, I rather hoped I’d get out of completing point 4. Another seven things? I bet you’re all rather bored with all this “interesting” stuff about me left right and centre 😉

However… despite my reluctance I will comply… with a twist.

Skydived in Argentina — Bungeed off the highest bungee point in New Zealand — Paraglided over Ipanema  beach & next day rock climbed Sugar Loaf in Rio — Scuba dived at night in Hawaii — Trekked for three days to Machu Picchu — Mountain climbed to nearly 1600m in Bolivia — I find the quickest way to get down a mountain is always on skis.

I wish you all a lovely weekend ahead xxx

22 thoughts on “Dragon’s Loyalty Award

  1. Oh, no! I still haven’t figured out how / what to do for the first two honours bestowed upon me. I can barely keep up with the 150 email alerts I have waiting after word, the 75 or so I do inn the evening, and the 75 – 100 waiting for me when I awake.

    But I do thank you, and enjoy our very stimulating and pleasant discourse.

  2. Oh wow! I’m thrilled for this one. Vicki you make it easy to engage you and be a part of your convo 🙂
    Seriously, you are one really cool lady and this coming from you…I’m just honored. Unfortunately don’t know how to do all this tech stuff, but do know I hold this close to y heart 🙂
    @Navigator, you are spot on, very stimulating and pleasant discourse.

    • I hesitate to say that it is a challenge to keep up, but there is an element of truth to this. I must also admit that the relationships (did I just use the “R” word!!?) that I’ve established with all the wonderful people here on wordpress are a greater reward than I would ever have imagined.

    • Well you know me, Dotta, always best pleased when there’s a good debate going. I do try my best to write pieces that either inform or entertain or – even better – both, but more than anything else I want to engage with others. Whether we agree or disagree, I always learn something from our exchange of ideas, and I hope that it is always a fruitful and enjoyable one to everyone else as well.
      Your comments are always both extensive and thoughtful and this is my way of saying thank you 🙂

    • A very lovely weekend to you too, KG. You’ve been with me on this journey from very near it’s start and I’m very happy that you’re enjoying our discussions. I’m always curious to know your take on the topics I raise – as you always bring a new perspective to the table – so thank you 🙂
      Warm regards,
      Vic

  3. Hi, Vic, and thanks for thinking of me. It’s humbling that you nominated me, but, to be honest, I’m not a huge fan of awards. I really started posting my writing so that it wouldn’t end up festering away in a drawer somewhere; also I tend to comment on things that appeal/ stimulate/ interest or move me (as opposed to ‘brand loyalty). It just so happens that I enjoy your blog a lot. So, thanks again, but I’ll decline, and let you find someone else – although I will check out some of your other nominees.
    Take care, Chris.

    • Dear Chris, I completely understand. There are several other bloggers I would’ve also liked to include in this award, but who have similarly told me in the past that they do not accept awards as a rule. That’s a personal choice and of course it’s absolutely ok with me.
      Like you, I tend to return to blogs that I find engaging and stimulating, and I do my best to comment whenever I think that I have something to share that may be of use. I agree with you that it should never be about brand loyalty.
      Your comment reminded me of a discussion I was having with someone in my department on the subject of networking. They told me that I seem to be very good at it, and that surprised me. I said that I never network. I do go to conferences and seminars and I engage with fellow participants and their work, true. But “networking” to me seems to be some sort of rational choice strategy, that implies that one engages with others only because they expect something in return – and that is never the case for me.
      I engage for the sake of engagement – that to me is reward in itself, in the same way in which I learn for the sake of learning and write for the sake of writing – without any expectation that it may bring me some material return.
      I really appreciate all your comments and very much enjoy our exchanges. To me – they are reward in itself 🙂
      So thank you.

    • Sharks were the least of my concern lol. It was a deep dive down to see a plane. Four of us. I was buddied up with a divemaster, the other guy was with the instriuctor, but although he had a dozen more badges than me, his buoyancy was dreadful and his breathing hardly any better. He ran out of air – or very nearly so – quite quickly and we had to make a return earlier than planned. That’s when the trouble began. The currents got stronger. There had been a storm out of sea and it was reaching the peripheries. No matter how strongly I tried to move forward, the current kept me in the same spot and at one point it pushed me back towards the plane and I got a cut on my wrist…

      • The only monsters I saw were sleeping fish! I didn’t even know fish slept. They sleep on one side, I could almost imagine them tucking their little heads under their fin for comfort.
        …when we reached the rope and started moving upwards the current got so strong that it started rolling us around. It was pitch dark. Our only source of light were the lamps on our heads. It was impossible to tell which way was up or down. I had to remind myself which way I’d moved my hand up the rope to be sure I was actually going up and not down.
        It was the first and only time I got vertigo – at the bottom of the sea.

  4. wow how cool are you?
    scuba diving at night sounds so beautiful and exciting 🙂
    thank you for thinking of me 🙂
    its always a pleasure chatting with you because you have such a way with words and ideas, always an interesting and uplifting viewpoint.
    sometimes i tell myself to have a break from blogging and yet find myself drawn towards your page lol
    of course i look forward to reading more of your work and chatting either thru yours or mine 🙂
    Thanks again Vic x

    • My pleasure TwinCentaur, and yes, I look forward to more of our chats whether here or over on your wonderful blog, where I’m sure to always find a heart-warming post 🙂

  5. Pingback: Dragon’s Loyalty Award | dawnyhosking

  6. Pingback: Got nominated, weeehaa! | CRAZY LIFE

Leave a Reply

