Scorned

Woman Scorned - Portrait by Renette Van Niekerk

Woman Scorned – Portrait by Renette Van Niekerk

            Once was enough

            To have me fooled.

            I’m over it.

            My heartbeat cooled,

 

            Hardened by reason

            As it ought.

            I may have loved,

            But I shall not.

 

            Now beckons

            The reality of life.

            I craved adventure,

            Yours is strife.

 

            So as the night sky clears

            I’ll find yet

            Whence listless hunger’s end

            One can beget.

*

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/16/daily-prompt-details/

19 thoughts on “Scorned

  1. Pingback: Welcome to my world… In/verse | vic briggs

    • Thank you, Will of Heart. When I looked at the portrait there was both sadness and determination in those eyes. A mixture of vulnerability and strength. It tempted me to ask what she was thinking and in my mind’s eye she said : “Right then. Enough’s enough.” It made me smile, so I decided to give her a story.

  2. Pingback: An Army Wife’s Memoirs | A mom's blog

  3. Ha! That’s cool; I love how you pulled the words out of this portrait. Gives it more depth.

    And naturally, I thought of the old quote: “Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.”

    • How wonderful! That is exactly the quote that came to mind when I first saw the portrait too.
      This was a new departure for me. Usually I write first and then search for an image second, but I came across this portrait and something about it called me to give it a voice.
      I am glad you thought it gave it more depth. There is something in the eyes that speaks, although I’m sure it may whisper different things to different onlookers.

  4. Pingback: My Interview With My Doctor About ObamaCare | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  5. Pingback: Details | Kansa Muse

  6. Pingback: Hakuna Matata | Processing the life

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: FAQ | BulgingButtons

  8. Pingback: [More of] A Woman Scorned

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: FAQ | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: A Woman Scorned

  11. Pingback: Mom And I Talk About Death And Bikinis | The Jittery Goat

  12. Pingback: Daily prompt: Detail! – A visit in a stable | Words 'n Pics

    • So funny. Apparently that quote is a paraphrase of the original. I used it as the comment of choice when I posted this on FB and a friend sent me a link to let me know that I used the wrong quote lol

  13. Pingback: Saturday Spinning | Tommia's Tablet

  14. Pingback: The finer details | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

Leave a Reply

